×
×

Legacy File Manager

Back

The Legacy File Manager offers file manipulation options in an older web-based interface. Users already familiar with an older version of cPanel may find the Legacy File Manager more comfortable.

Legacy File Manager Directory Selection window

When you open Legacy File Manager, perform the following steps:

  1. The Legacy File Manager Directory Selection window will appear. Select which of the three main directories you wish to view:
    • The home directory (/home/user)
    • Web Root (/public_html/www)
    • Document Root (/public_html)
  2. Select the Show Hidden Files option to see hidden files.
  3. Select the Skip this question option if you do not want to see the Legacy File Manager Directory Selection window again.
  4. Click Go.

The Legacy File Manager interface opens in a new browser window. The selected directory displays in the file window.


Navigation toolbar

Use the toolbar at the top of the file window to navigate between folders in the file window.

Feature
Icon
Description
Home Navigates directly to the home directory (/home/user).
Go Up One Dir Navigates to the folder that contains the currently selected folder.

To navigate the files and folders in your current directory:

  • Click a  to navigate the file tree.
  • Click the folder name to view the file or folders’ properties.

Note: After you expand a list of subfolders, click on the folder name to view the folder's contents.


Legacy File Manager toolbar

The File Manager toolbar, located above the folder list, shows the functions available to create or upload files and folder to the the Legacy File Manager .

Feature
Icon
Description
Upload files Uploads files to the current directory.
Create a New Folder Creates a new folder in the current directory.
Create a New File Creates a new file in the current directory with a user-defined file extension.


Properties menu

The properties menu, located on the right-side of the interface, shows the functions available to manage your folders and files.

Click a folder to see these options:

Feature
Icon
Description
Delete this folder and all files under it Deletes selected folder and all subfolders from the server.
Change Permissions Changes the ReadWrite, and Execute permissions for selected files.
Rename Folder Renames the selected file or folder.
Copy this folder Copies the selected folder to a user-specified directory.
Move this folder Allows you to move the selected folder to a new directory.


When you click a file, you will see these options:

Feature
Icon
Description
Show File Opens the selected file in a new window.
Delete File Deletes selected files from the server.
Edit File with Code Editor Opens the selected file in a code editor.
Edit File Opens the selected file in a text editor.
Change Permissions Changes the ReadWrite, and Execute permissions for the selected file.
Rename File Renames the selected file.
Copy File Copies selected items to a user-specified directory.
Move File Moves the selected file to a user-selected directory.
Download File Downloads the selected file to your computer.
URL Displays the selected file as it would look on the website.
Empty Trash Recovers any deleted files and folders. Click on the name of the file or folder listed below the trash icon to recover that item. Click on the icon to permanently delete the items in the trash.

Note: These options are specific to the type of file selected. Not all options appear for all types of files.


Character encoding verification dialogs

When you edit a file with Edit, or Code Editor, use the menu to select the correct character encoding for the file. Then, click Edit to continue.

You can also turn Character Encoding Verification Dialogs on or off through Settings:

  1. Click Settings in the top left corner of File Manager.
  2. Select Disable Character Encoding Verification Dialogs:
    • To turn the encoding verification off, select the Disable Character Encoding Verification Dialogs option.
    • To turn the encoding verification on, deselect the Disable Character Encoding Verification Dialogs option.
  3. Click Save

Warning: If you choose the wrong initial encoding, your file may become corrupt. If your file displays as a series of special characters, immediately abort the edit and select the correct encoding. Do not save the file.