×
×

How to Password Protect Directories

Back

Password protection of a directory requires visitors to enter a username and a password, which restricts access to certain parts of your website. This password process is also referred to as a type of “authentication” process.

While you use this feature, click the folder icon located next to the name of the directory to navigate the directories. Click on the name of the directory to select the directory for password protection.

Note: Any subdirectories that are inside the selected directory will also be password protected.

Password protect a directory

To password protect your directory, perform the following steps:

  1. Select the directory in which you wish to begin to work.
  2. Click Go.
  3. From the list, select the directory you wish to protect.
  4. Enter the name you would like visitors to see in the Name the protected directory text box.

    Note: The directory name can be anything, regardless of what the directory itself is named.

  5. Click Save.

After you complete this process, you will need create a user and password in the Create User section of this interface.

Create a user

To create a user, perform the following steps:

  1. Enter the username, new password, and password confirmation in the appropriate boxes.
  2. Click Add/modify authorized user.

Note: The new user's name will be added to the menu under the Authorized Users heading, where it can be removed later.

Remove a user

To delete password protection for a user, perform the following steps:

  1. Select the desired account name in the menu under the Authorized Users heading.
  2. While the name is highlighted, click the Delete User button to delete the account.

Remove password protection

To remove password protection from the directory, unselect Password protect this directory.